logo BDSP

Base documentaire

  1. Medical specialty credentialing in the United States.

    Article - En anglais

    Specialty boards serve the function of defining qualifications and issuing credentials to assure the public of the specialist's preparation and skill.

    Over the past 72 years, 23 such boards have been approved and now issue 31 different types of general specialty certificates and 57 types of subspecialty credentials.

    For 50 years, the American Board of Medical Specialties has encouraged a system of recertification to demonstrate that the certified specialist has maintained skill and has incorporated the new knowledge associated with advancing medical science.

    Presently, 17 of the 23 boards are committed to time-limited certificates requiring recertification every seven to ten years, and others are currently planning such a process.

    Mots-clés Pascal : Amérique du Nord, Amérique, Qualification professionnelle, Médecine, Enseignement universitaire, Etats Unis, Homme, Surspécialisation, Spécialité médicale

    Mots-clés Pascal anglais : North America, America, Professional qualification, Medicine, Higher education, United States, Human, Medical speciality

    Logo du centre Notice produite par :
    Inist-CNRS - Institut de l'Information Scientifique et Technique

    Cote : 91-0158759

    Code Inist : 002B30C. Création : 199406.